What’s on

What’s on

2020.10.09 2020.10.09

Note to Bucheon by Jeff Noh

Note to Bucheon by Jeff Noh

Information
Period 09 October 2020 ~ 23 November 2020
Location Bucheon

Montreal-based Korean Canadian writer Jeff Noh stayed in Bucheon, UNESCO Creative City of Literature between 8 October -23 November. The following is his note to Bucheon.

On the rainiest day of November this year, in the final week of my Bucheon Residency, I visited the recovered site of Heungdeoksa Temple, the place where Baegun Hwasang Chorok Buljo Jikji Simche Yojeol, a collection of Buddhist teachings, was printed over six hundred years ago. I had spent the previous weeks going on field trips organized by Bucheon’s City of Literature Office in an attempt to fill in the blanks of the novel that I have been working for the past eight years – an experimental work that tries to understand the unique entanglements of history, both personal and national, that characterize the Korean diaspora. But the trip to the Heungdeoksa Temple site and the Cheongju Early Printing Museum was particularly meaningful to me. I had first learned of Jikji – a product of movable metal-type that precedes Gutenberg’s 42-line Bible by nearly seventy years – while researching the historical connections between France and Korea as revealed in the circumstances of its departure from the Korean Peninsula (the only copy of Jikji is currently held at the Bibliothèque Nationale in France). I had used the story of Jikji as a way of thinking, in an oblique way, about the circumstances in which someone born in Korea might end up in the province of Quebec. Returning to my country of birth and visiting the site of Jikji’s printing was to approach the object from the opposite direction in history.